RT Daily Blog

Forewords — The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Sydney Landon continues her Danvers series with two new installments. Readers can look forward to even higher stakes and more passion.

Mystery - With Sacrifice, Philip Freeman continues his series of mysteries set in medieval Ireland, which star a nun who must work amongst Christians and druids to catch a killer. Coming in Fall 2015.

Contemporary Romance - Mary Sullivan continues her Accord, Colorado series for Harlequin’s Superromance line with at least one more book. Release date TBA.

Erotic Romance - Sylvia Day's fourth Crossfire book, Captivated by You, finally has a release date! The book will be releasing digitally and in print November 18. Gideon lovers rejoice!


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Young Adult - After being sent to a strange summer camp on an island, a teen girl with polio discovers she and other “unfit” kids are set to be the focus of a deadly experiment. Set in the 1920s, The Loup Island Solution by Susan Moger is sure to be a thrilling read.

Contemporary Romance - Nancy Haviland will enter the publishing world with her Wanted Men series, which focuses on international gangsters and the women who love them.

Young Adult - In Katie Kennedy’s Learning to Swear In America, a seventeen-year-old boy, who happens to be a Russian protege physicist, is enlisted by NASA to help save California from an asteroid heading their way. But with his advice and input ignored, there’s little he can do. His outlook on life takes a turn when he meets an American girl who seems unconcerned about the steroid. Coming soon in 2016.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Where To Submit Your Manuscript: August 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

You’ve written a book - congratulations! But if you thought that was hard, how about trying to find publishers open to submissions? Lucky for you, we gather open calls each month to help make the submission process a bit easier. This month, we have six exciting opportunities for you and your book. Take a look:

Entangled Publishing continues to let the sparks fly with their Lovestruck line, an imprint dedicated to stories that feature a strong “meet-cute”. This is definitely the line for writers who love writing about the instant connection that ignites between two characters when they first meet. Lovestruck is one of Entangled category romance imprints, so all submissions must be driven by tropes. So if your story is in the same vein as Sandra Bullock The Proposal or a heartwarming Jill Shalvis novel, then Lovestruck is for you! Learn more about the imprint and their submission guidelines here.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ellora's Cave Announces Changes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

The rumor mill has been running rampant around Ellora’s Cave, leading many to speculate what the future does or doesn’t hold for the erotica publisher. But the rumors can finally be put to rest thanks to an email originally sent to EC authors from the company’s CEO, Patricia L. Marks.

In the email, which was posted on Absolute Write’s forums yesterday and has since been removed, Marks states Ellora’s Cave has been suffering a “sharp decline of ebook sales via Amazon” and that the publisher is now having to make quick changes to avoid losing further money. The most drastic change is a shake-up in their editorial line-up. Ellora’s Cave has let go all of its freelance editors and cover artists. In-house editors and artists will take over these duties, which will hopefully result in “a more direct relationship with [its] authors”.

Additionally, Marks urges EC authors to direct readers to the EC website, Barnes and Noble and other ebook vendors instead of Amazon in an effort to provide authors with higher royalty rates and more visibility to readers. Marks also stressed that this is not “meant to be a statement about Amazon” and its ongoing feuds with Hachette.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Contemporary Romance - Donna Schneider will step into the spotlight in 2015 with Taking Chances, which tells the story of a woman in mourning who decides to step out of her shell and ends up in the limelight when she ends up in the arms of one of Hollywood’s sexiest actors.

Young Adult - In Fifteen Ways to Brave, E. Katherine Kottara’s debut, a girl makes a bucket list of things to try following the death of her mother. Skinny-dipping and asking out the boy she likes are only the tip of the iceberg.

Contemporary Romance - Amy Reichert’s The Coincidence of Coconut Cake takes food, love and second chances to dish up a charming tale. Look for this in Summer 2015.

NEW SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Mackenzie Crowne’s A Game of Keeps features a superstar tight end who gets in over his head when he becomes embroiled in an unexpected custody battle against an irresistible blonde.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Page to Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Page to Screen logo of a film reel Hollywood shows no sign of slowing down on their book-to-film adaptations. And this month, there are a host of exciting announcements that are sure to make any and all readers squeal and flail in excitement. Whether you enjoy zombies with an Austen twist, creepy YA or classic vampires, there's plenty here for you to whet your movie appetite. Take a look!

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies Lives Again

Just when fans thought the adaptation of Seth Grahame-Smith’s Pride and Prejudice and Zombies was dead, a recent announcement has breathed new life into the potential film. With Cross Creek Pictures taking over US distribution, principal photography is set to begin in September. Lily James and Sam Riley are now set to star. Read more over at Deadline.

A Wrinkle in Time Heads to Disney


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Historical Fiction - The trials and joys of four artistic sisters living in New York’s Gilded Age are detailed in Joy Callaway’s The Fifth Avenue Artists Society, an emotional and gripping read narrated by the sister who’s an aspiring novelist. Love, secrets and elitism all add to the story, which will appeal to fans of Edith Wharton and Little Women. Coming in Winter 2016.

NEW SERIES

Erotic Romance - Tara Sue Me is set for a new series, starting with The Enticement, which releases in April 2015, and a novella, "The Chalet", which will come out this October.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Contemporary Romance - Literary manager Kemper Donovan is stepping out from behind the scenes for Enticement, in which two people are brought together when they’re offered half a million dollars each if they spend a year going on dates with one another. Will they be able to get along long enough to be victorious and find true love? Coming in Spring 2016.

NEW SERIES

Contemporary Romance - In Lynette Austin’s new Wedding Planner series, three friends plan other people’s weddings may finally find their chance at walking down the aisle.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Announces the 2014 RITA Award Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

This past weekend, Romance Writers of America announced the 2014 RITA Award winners at their annual conference in San Antonio, Texas. And while there could only be one winner for each category, this year's finalists all are worthy of praise and more. So, without further ado, we’re pleased to bring you a colorful visual of all the 2014 RITA Award winners.

***

Nominated for Best First Book:


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Mainstream - Emily Cogburn is ready to make her debut with Louisiana Saves the Library. In this book, a divorced and out-of-work library science professor winds up working at an underfunded library in Alligator Bayou. With her best friend by her side, she must fight to keep the library open.

New Adult - In Heartsick, Caitlin Sinead’s debut, a mysterious epidemic plagues an elite liberal arts college. Those infected develop the ability to self-heal, which sends the townspeople into a frenzy. Look for this early next year.

Historical Fiction - Sally Christie’s The Sisters of Versailles takes readers into the 18th Century court of France where Louis XV reigns. The book follows the four real-life sisters who became his mistresses. Louis XV’s later years will be explored in The Rivals of Versailles and The Enemies of Versailles, both also told through his mistresses’ perspectives.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST